Chicken pot pie and veggie fried rice

It’s been suuuuch a long time since I’ve posted any recipes, so why not I share a few of the ones I’ve been using lately? Let’s start with the heavier recipe – chicken pot pie. I never imagined pot pie could be this easy to bake until one of my really close friends passed this recipe to me (much love to Lili!). I think this recipe’s quite foolproof as I’ve baked this pie a good number of times for friends and family with positive results – or maybe they’re just humoring me…

But anyway, this isn’t the exact recipe given to me, rather, my own slight variation. The original recipe called for celery which I replaced with potatoes since I believe it made more sense (and I’m not a huge fan of cooked celery).

Chicken Pot Pie
4 tablespoon butter
1/2 cup cubed potatoes
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 cups chicken broth
salt and pepper
2 cups cooked chicken (or turkey from Thanksgiving leftovers)
1/4 chopped parsely
1/2 teaspoon tarragon
1 1/2 cup of mixed frozen veggies (I usually pick out the lima beans in packages that include them)
refrigerated pie crust (they’re usually sold in pairs)

Pre-heat oven 350 degrees F
Line pie plate with bottom crust

1. In a saucepan, melt butter over med. heat. Cook potatoes and onions until tender.
2. Add flour and cook, stirring for 1 minute without browning
3. Gradually add broth and cook, stirring until sauce thickens
4. Season to taste with salt and pepper
5. Stir in chicken, veggies, parsley, and tarragon
6. Pour into pie crust and cover with top crust. Trim and crimp edges. Cut a few slits into the top crust
7. Bake for 1 hour until golden brown

Enjoy!

Here’s a dish I usually prepare for my brown-bagged lunch at work (I’ve become a semi-vegetarian during the weekday). Super easy, super simple, and super delicious! It’s almost a variation of my teriyaki fried rice except even when I do have teriyaki sauce available, I still opt for soy sauce and sugar separately. That way I can douse in the sugar to my liking.

Veggie Fried Rice
cooked rice (2-3 cups, depending on your appetite or however many you’re going to serve)
various veggies – tomatoes, broccoli, asparagus, baby corn, snow peas, carrots, bell peppers – a variation of veggies to your liking/whatever’s available on hand. I usually use thawed, frozen veggies
egg – optional
soy sauce
sugar
salt and pepper
togarashi (Japanese pepper seasoning)- this is my main (FAVORITE!) seasoning, but if it’s not available, it’ll still turn out just as delicious
cooking oil

1. With the oil on medium heat, saute and season the veggies with salt and pepper until slightly tender. If you’re adding egg, shove the veggies to one side and cook/scramble to your liking and season with salt and pepper.
2. Add cooked rice and toss evenly
3. Add soy sauce to your liking. Of course you don’t want to drown everything.
4. Sprinkle a dash of sugar. I usually just grab a big pinch with my fingers and throw it in. It’s probably about a teaspoon and a half.
5. If you have togarashi, add that too.
6. Stir until everything’s evenly distributed. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

