Going old school, felt crafts, new SOD, and The Sketchbook Project!

Light & Magic Helen trading card

Light & Magic Helen trading card

I’ve been up to a lot lately – creatively, that is! But I’ve been slacking on blogging, at least on here, sadly. So prepare for one of the longest updates I’ve ever made!

Doodle-wise, my sketchbooks have been getting plenty of love. So, I’m not really into today’s popular anime. I’m one of the folks who are just too attached to the styles with dreamy eyes and flowing hair seen in old Japanese cartoons like Voltron or, my most favorite Robotech (Macross). So I tried channeling the likes of those artists and began doing some doodles.

These doodles are inspired by Mira & Helen from Ladytron – rather, their Light & Magic/604 look with exaggerated hair features. Or, I should be more specific, Helen from their Blue Jeans video. It’s that hair and uniform I can’t resist! The Mira drawing is inspired a lot by those weird curls the character Minmay from Robotech/Macross would have.

Since I mentioned cards, here are a few newer SoD in YZ uniform cards featuring Squire Whyte and Squire C. It was only fair these two be featured on an another card in alternate poses since Thorn and D had two of their own.
YZ Squire Whyte and Squire C trading cards

And while we’re on the subject of the SoD – I’ve posted a few new comics! And to keep up with my tradition of having my viewers run all over the interwebs I’ve posted one in the archives blog and one in my deviantART page. I know I kind of vowed to never draw Thorn as the pseudo-gothling, Halloween is coming around and this was as Halloweeny as I can get for now. He’s discovered the thesaurus, much to the chagrin of his fellow Squires. The other comic features my Lunch is Resistance blog “mascot” – the Lunch Lady (as I’m calling her from now on) giving Squire C a lesson in better eating.

I promise, one of these days everything will be consolidated in ONE page. One of these days.

But anyway, in non-doodly projects, I’ve been on a bit of a Miyazaki kick. A while ago, I made a Kodama-shaped rice ball, and this weekend I’ve been making a bunch of chibi Totoro felt buddies.

Chibi Totoro felt buddies

Chibi Totoro felt buddies

Originally I was set on making a few felt mascots from the Aranzi Aronzo book, but I was getting a little too lazy to deal with French knots and cutting out felt limbs. Then I figured, since I have an abundant supply of white felt, why not try to make the smallest Totoro? These guys even have tails! And another funny fact- I put myself through the trouble of making French knots for the pupils of their eyes because I make them sloppy enough that they end up becoming the perfect size. In addition to little felt buddies, I made some greeting cards. Been a busy afternoon!

Chibi Totoro Cards

Chibi Totoro cards

And before I close off this huge update, thought I’d mention that I’m participating in The Sketchbook Project 2011 by Art House Co-op! These sketchbooks will go on tour starting March of next year. Hopefully you’ll catch a glimpse of mine! Want to participate? Click the image below!
The Sketchbook Project: 2011The theme I’m doing, by the way is “Dirigibles and submersibles”. I’m so excited!

One thought on “Going old school, felt crafts, new SOD, and The Sketchbook Project!

  1. Pilots complete flights for their airline, using their simulator, either
    online (using a network such as Sim – Miles) or offline, and then
    file a pilot report. Sub-Genre: Reality Simulation – Person-centered reality simulation games provide the
    user with the ability to control a single, or sometimes a handful, of individual characters.
    The atmosphere parameters calculated are: temperature, dew point, pressure density, wind (three-dimensional) and visibility.
    This kind of game is great because it can also provide scientific information, ‘Phun’ would help with physics study obviously while other simulation games that offer choices could contribute valuable data to Psychology.

    If you are looking for a fun way to spend your weekends, aflight simulator games
    is one of the most fun things to have.

Leave a Reply

