The Note Swap

A cool surprise in the mail!

Somewhere around the end of March or beginning of April, I signed up for one of Art House co-op’s free projects called The Note Swap where participants send in a note – however and whatever is written along with a SASE. The folks at Art House swap out the notes, we all wait patiently, and voila! Everyone gets a cool surprise in the mail!

The cool thing I liked about it was that I didn’t have to think too hard and try to be stupid fancy. What wasn’t cool was that I took a picture of it before mailing it off…then I stupidly deleted it. So, if any Art House co-op participants got a note that looked like it was written in elementary school with doodles of offices, cars, and computers in place of actual words…that was me.

Anyhoo, a few weeks ago, I received my note swap. And how perfect was it that a RECIPE was in it!

So the recipe was for a Maltese pastry called pastizz, or plural – pastizzi. Let’s see how I fared…

Laying out the ingredients. Uh…the semi-homemade version.

So the recipe called for filo dough, which I’m way too much of a beginner to make, so it suggested refrigerated flaky pastry dough. I grabbed something canned that had the words “flaky” on it thinking I’m all set. The biscuit dough was pretty thick, so I sliced each one in half.

Well, I definitely see why these are also a female genitalia euphemism.

Stuffed in the riccotta, egg, and salt filling, pinched the edges, and baked.

I can’t talk to you if you don’t love cheese-filled pastries.

And did they smell yummy! Though, I’m PRETTY sure I was supposed to get something flakier, like croissant dough because these were a tad on the dense, bready side. Even if I was a little disappointed that they didn’t come out flaky, I actually enjoyed these! I’m always a sucker for cheese-filled pastries and breads. They worked great as a breakfast on the go treat!

So what is it they say? If at first you don’t buy the correct flaky dough – make it yourself? Or buy the right dough. Yeah, that’s it.

Anyhow, another thing I loved about this little project was that it reminded me of instructional pieces – definitely helped that the note that came to me was a recipe. I totally miss letters in the mail and other surprises that aren’t bills or junk mail – don’t you? I’m hoping Art House does one of these again!

3 thoughts on “The Note Swap

  1. So glad you liked the recipe – it’s been in my family for years! Phyllo dough can be found in the freezer section of most grocery stores – it’s packaged in a flat box and will usually labeled as phyllo or filo dough.

Leave a Reply

