Meating of doodles, stickers, and the end of #DoodleADay

Drawing Meat-up

A gathering of Drawing Meats happened this past Sunday. For me, it was my first meetup – for most, it was a first meetup after a long hiatus. Many of us know each other from working at the same company at some point.

Moments before drawing some despicable comics.

Moments before drawing some despicable comics.

Before any of these meetups, my first impression was that it was a group of artists sitting around, doodling, bouncing some ideas, and chatting it up over coffee.Β  I wasn’t wholly wrong – we also took part in a few drawing activities. I vaguely heard about these being mentioned before the meetup so it was a little unexpected!

One of the activities we did was a collaborative six-panel comic. As best as I could describe, each artist draws the first panel and passes it along to the next artist who will draw the next and so on until the last is filled. Each panel is limited to 3 minutes to be finished. The results? Take a look at this one:

Kitties, communism, and war - all part of a complete breakfast.

Kitties, communism, and war – all part of a complete breakfast.

If you’re looking for robo bunnies and alien ice cream, take a look at the rest of the six-panel comics here.

The second collaborative activity of the meetup wasn’t so much time-limited, but resulted in just as hilarious, yet dark results! What the heck am I talking about? Trifold doodles, of course!

STICKERS!

Did I tell you yet? My stickers came in! I got them sooner than expected. They turned out quite well.

I know that look...you have stickers on your mind.

I know that look…you have stickers on your mind.

IMG_2139

Mmyep. They stick. To things. Neat!

The circle is now complete…

This past Tuesday (March 10)Β  the 365/365 drawing of my #DoodleADay project was posted! Whew, what a journey. Patting myself on the back for actually keeping this up for a whole year – stuff like travel and being out all day can easily make me miss a doodle. But anyhoo how’s about we look back…

My first doodle was a really messy drawing of a Plants vs. Zombies Garden Warfare Peashooter. Yeesh. My only goal really was just to keep the pencil moving. Crap drawing? Stick figure? Same thing? Done and done.

It's recognizable, right?

It’s recognizable, right?

I thought it appropriate to close the loop with another Peashooter – in color!

The ultimate zombie repellant and highly-recommended by landscapers.

The ultimate zombie repellant and highly-recommended by landscapers.

It’s a great project to see personal style growth. I’ve seen some improvements, slight changes in style, preferences in media – and opportunities to improve in places that yet to be worked on. I find that my favorite medium to use are pen, markers, and, when sketching – blue or red Verithins.

Thanks so much to everyone who has followed me on my personal project! So what happens now?

More daily doodling of course! This time I will be tagging these with #DailyDoodles with no particular counter. Come follow along on my Instagram, Twitter, and Tumblr!

I hope I’ve inspired a few who may have artists’ block :)

Happy Doodling!

One thought on “Meating of doodles, stickers, and the end of #DoodleADay

Leave a Reply

