Crowns and Crystal Gems

I’m back into the swing of things and my Dailies are daily (twice a day if I’ve missed one).

Themes are something I haven’t done since, maybe last year’s #DoodleADay when I had a week of scribbling Daedric Princes. Looking at the recent Dailies, you could say there was a bit of a running theme – namely crowns and sassy girls.

I’m secretly a bit of a goth/sweet/elegant/aristocrat Lolita – and one of my favorite motifs that are often accompanied by lolita styles are crowns. Not just those simple little crowns or circlets, but those regal crowns lined with velvet or fur and encircled with a “cage” of gold and topped with emblems.

Crowns are one of those things I’ve always wanted to draw, but had (or still have) problems drawing them. It’s one of those situations where, the more you draw it, the better you get. So here’s to getting better at doodling these things!

Po-po-po-poker face. My po-poker face.

Po-po-po-poker face. My po-poker face.

A crown fit for a Sweet Lolita. Or magical girl. Or pirate space alien vegetarian biotics engineer with commitment issues who's also a spiderphobe.

A crown fit for a Sweet Lolita. Or magical girl. Or pirate space alien vegetarian biotics engineer with commitment issues who’s also a spiderphobe.

Sweet (and sticky) is the head that wears this crown.

Sweet (and sticky) is the head that wears this crown.

 

While not really crown or lolita related, the next few doodles were still girly and kind of magical. I easily became a fan of Steven Universe after watching the first episode. I won’t get into the why’s of liking it because I’m terrible at putting together words when describing the things I like.

But anyhoo, after watching a few episodes, some fanart was due. Fanart of the fabulous Crystal Gems. The latest I drew was Amethyst.

She'd roll over and fart if you told her your feelings.

She’d roll over and fart if you told her your feelings.

Neither a Crystal, Gem, or remotely magical – my version of Snow White. She’s quite the dreamer, she is. Who is this handsome fellow she’s dreaming about?

For all we know, she's probably mocking her step-mom.

For all we know, she’s probably mocking her step-mom.

While drawing Dailies helps keep my drawing arm moving – I do get blocked from time to time. I could see having a theme for a week giving me some direction. Maybe I’ll give it a go soon!

Do any of you doodlers and scribblers do themed dailies?

Leave a Reply

