Hot n’ Hard for Accessories

They did it again.

Daiso, a store that sells cheap Japanese goods ranging from household, cosmetic, to arts & crafts has tempted me with one of their many handicraft kits (for no more than $1.50 each of course!).

Let's make...STUFF!

Let’s make…STUFF!

A lot of adults my age may remember those kits called Shrinky Dinks (they’re still around today!) – plastic sheets where pictures can be drawn, colored, then heated in the oven to shrink and harden. The results can be anything from ornaments, charms, keychains, and other cool stuff!

This is a Japanese version that comes with a few small sheets and some bits if you’d like to turn them into keychains. When I spotted these, I suddenly had all these ideas of turning my characters and fan art into little accessories. Mobile charms? Pins? Stuff for Artists Alley at cons?!

I gave in after my last few visits to the shop. At $1.50 a pop, why not?

Instructions are as easy as they are adorable.

Instructions are as easy as they are adorable.

Welp, one of the things I was slightly concerned about was the mention of using oil-based markers in the manual because:

1. I REALLY didn’t want to shell out for another set of markers that I’m not sure I’d be using often. And, depending on the brand, they’re not cheap either (coming from someone who easily shells out for other markers).

2. If I really just wanted a set, the palettes didn’t include what I needed, like, say a flesh color.

So I used what I had anyway, figuring this was experimental. I noticed actual Shrinky Dinks use permanent marker, so I started with those.

Hah! Yes, Judging Hot Dog, you are my first subject.

Judgemental Hot Dog: The Plastic-ing

Judgemental Hot Dog: The Plastic-ing

A few seconds in the toaster oven (the kit instructs to use them, assuming you’ve got one)…

On your keys, hanging from your mobile, dangling from your bag zipper...you will be judged.

On your keys, hanging from your mobile, dangling from your bag zipper…you will be judged.

Not bad, huh? Using the markers I had did result in some bumpy streaks, but nothing too concerning…yet.

So then I got really comfy and made a few more. I wish I could say the second run came out better…

Is this some sort of subliminal message?!

Is this some sort of subliminal message?!

Snow White came out ok, though it was a little bit on the crinkly side. As for the meat…I failed. As instructed, I pressed them after they shrank to their final size. What I didn’t notice was that the part where the key chain hole was curled downward. Oh wells. 2 out of 3 isn’t bad for a first try, yeah?

In short – I love these! I plan to make more – or at least use up the kits. And…agh, I may have to shell out for a few oil-based markers just to see if the paint job turns out better.

Have you tried Shrinky Dinks, or something similar?

Happy doodling!

Leave a Reply

