What’s the Story, Rory?

Rory’s Story Cubes, you can be my wing man any time.

Come on, snake eyes....

Come on, snake eyes….

Some time ago, I saw these cubes at a shop, thought they were cute and went on my way.  Probably about a year later (a few weeks ago, actually), I caught someone on Instagram using these things to draw a cute comic (sadly, that Instagram account is now gone).

A short time later I’ve acquired a few of these – a base kit and an Enchanted kit (dwarves, faeries, magic, c’mon). I mainly wanted to use these to mix up the group activities for the art meetup I frequent. But also – to make stupid comics at home. Behold…

Didn't I mention that I wanted to incorporate as much Arrested Development into my daily life as possible?

Didn’t I mention that I wanted to incorporate as much Arrested Development into my daily life as possible?

The awesome thing about these Story Cubes is that there is really no wrong way to use them. Going off of what I saw on Instagram, I roll three cubes and try to draw some sort of scenario that includes some aspect of those images.

“H-heh…yeah my wings are kinda small for my age.”

Drawing prompts are great – no doubt, though, sometimes little pictures can be a big help! And the cubes are just cute.

Next episode sees Melkor enrolling toddler Sauron into pre-school for dark lords.

Next episode sees Melkor enrolling toddler Sauron into pre-school for dark lords.

I’m seriously really excited for the next Hourly Comics Day – these cubes are going to be a huge help, if not just generally fun!

Great...and parking's gonna cost them.

Great…and parking’s gonna cost them.

I mostly post these on my Twitter since it can be a little too spammy for Instagram. If you’re still feeling blocked even with prompts, I seriously suggest giving these a try sometime!

Leave a Reply

