My Cookies go Both Ways

I like it when my cookies go both ways.

Sweet and savory.

This usually applies to the shortbread cookies I make.The really neat thing about making shortbread cookies- if you’re SOL on eggs you still have cookies.

Tea in your cookies. What a time to be alive.

Tea in your cookies. What a time to be alive.

I’ve followed this recipe ever since I’ve seen it. But sometimes….I never have Earl Grey tea. But I always have green.ย Sometimes hoji-cha. Maybe matcha.

And sometimes matcha WITH chocolate.

And sometimes matcha WITH chocolate.

They all work and they all get equally eaten.

Tea is the route usually I go when I want them sweet.

For savory, it can get really interesting:

Is this..pizza in a cookie?! What a time to be alive!

Is this..pizza in a cookie?! What a time to be alive!

That, my friends, are savory, cheesy cookies with Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute. Tastes a bit like pizza!

Not too long ago I found some recipes for savory shortbread. It started with bacon.

Don't lie - you'd try these too.

Don’t lie – you’d try these too.

And, most recently…..

Seaweed is a vegetable right? So these are practically salad cookies.

Seaweed is a vegetable right? So these are practically salad cookies.

…furikake!

It’s probably nothing new (I remember seeing furikake baked goods in Hawaii), but this came out of two things:

  1. I wanted to use up my furikake seasoning
  2. I remembered the obanyaki I had a while ago had furikake in the batter

And they turned out yummy. Much so that my friend hoarded some for later.

If you’re curious about making savory shortbread cookies – experiment!ย I’ll admit, with the savory cookies, I didn’t much measure – but a start would be about a teaspoon of, say the 21 Seasoning Salute, or pasta seasoning mix. And, if the dough tastes pretty good – good chance that the outcome will be tasty :).

Happy baking!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

