Turning the Tables

That time came around to registering for Fanime’s Artist Alley – and since my pal and I had a lot of fun last time, we jumped for the chance again….

…welp, no dice this time. BUT – that didn’t stop us from poking around for other events to set up shop. So this year…

..we can check off the Japan Town’s Mini Art Mart off our tabling experience. This past weekend, my pal and I took the opportunity to sell our art. The Mini Art Mart is a small, monthly event for artists around the Bay Area to set up shop in one of the malls in San Francisco’s Japan Center.

Pretty nifty since paying for a table is quite cheap and the location isn’t so far.

Me, I call them treasures...

Me, I call them treasures…

Taking our learnings from Fanime – we made some buttons and a few other small, instantly-enjoyable goodies.

A bit of this, and a bit of that...

A bit of this, and a bit of that…

Of course, we definitely expected a much different crowd – after all, these tables set up in the middle of a mall aren’t exactly the main objectives of shoppers and diners – unlike the attendees of a con.

Just what you see here...

Matt the Radar Tech is still relevant…right? RIGHT?!

Tourists, families, weekenders, diners – were the typical folks who perused by our tables. I had low sales expectations (though, I miraculously broke even!) but I enjoyed it just as much – the engagement with folks who stop by to the observation and people-watching.

It was another learning experience – and I’ve taken some notes on what to do better for this particular event as well as cons. Would I still do this particular event again? Who knows – I definitely want to look into snagging a table when Japan Town holds anime or Jrock related festivals. After all – my observations and notes have to go to some good use!

One thing’s for sure…I’ve got A LOT to catch up on with Pokemon. You mean there are other games past Blue and Red?! :P

 

Leave a Reply

