Sketchy Business

I’ve been pretty good with resisting the temptations of buying art supplies. Sort of.

Okay, I REALLY needed new pencil leads and lining pens. But that’s besides the point.

As far as sketchbooks, I’ve been pretty fortunate to have received them as gifts or freebies and I have a pretty good supply to keep me busy for a while. Some of these sketchbooks…aren’t originally sketchbooks. Rather, lined notebooks, outdated datebooks. And, in my quest to use up what I already have, I’ve been pairing these with regular ol’ ballpoint pens.

Won’t lie – I do sketch in pencil first then go over with pen.

I’ve discovered that doodling with this pairing – as a friend mentioned – is quite freeing. There’s no pressure of drawing something perfect, hey, it’s lined, go wild! Just the motions of sketching with a ballpoint pen is cathartic as well.

The only reason I played Final Fantasy VII

Sometimes it’s just nice to take a break from the obligations of lining and coloring.

Rivaling the strongest woman in the world

Usually I like going this route when I can’t think of what to draw with color. Sometimes I just like the results of my warm-up doodles!

Big, puffy sleeves. I can’t resist drawing them.

Do you like doodling on any kind of surface, whether they’re lined, squared, or dated? Or are you more of a strictly unlined surface kind of sketcher?