Tone it down

In my continued quest to use up the supplies I already have, my dailies – for the past month or so, have mostly been in one of my toned sketchbooks.

“I like you, Tombo! I like you as much as I am hungry for instant noodles!”

So they’ve been mostly sketched, inked…maybe a touch-up with white colored pencil or gel pen. Or, on the rare occasion, maybe an actual marker.

Kweh.

I find stickers and washi tape look particularly good on toned paper!

Donut stickers, courtesy of the temptress that is the Daiso store.

Other than trying to fill up these sketchbooks (I maaaaaay have a few I’ve bought compulsively during sales)…let’s just say some of my markers have been drying up…

I’ve definitely been enjoying just drawing with pencil and ink – and the toned paper gives it a nice antique-y look. It also forces me to vary line weights, so there’s that – there’s always room to learn and try something new.

“I’ll be in your drawing. Cassian said I had to.”

Well, sure, I could stock up on these markers – but, again, I want to stay the course on this quest. Two more toned sketchbooks to go!

And I still have my watercolors, so color in my drawings are still in the picture.

These are just a few of my toned sketchbook doodles – head on over to my Instagram and Twitter for more! And…if you’ve been enjoying my drawings, come visit my Ko-fi page!

I’ll just take a drip coffee. Or a mocha. I like mochas.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

