Sew What?

I’ve overcome a fear…and found a new addiction…

…in sewing!

Ok, yeah. I’ve already been sewing with just needle and thread. But I vowed earlier this year that I’d get around to moving on up to the sewing machine. Months later, I finally did!

*poses*

My mom had this portable little machine she got as a gift many ages ago. And, as is my mantra (or something, am I using that word right?) – maximize the sources that are already available. Or – use up the crap I already have in layman’s terms.

Baby steps, remember? This machine’s not too fancy ย – only one stitch and two speeds: fast and ludicrous speed. But the stitches are pretty sturdy for what I needed. So here goes nothing!

First few tries with just making a Chibi Totoro…

Uh…

Yeah..I can almost see it.

Welp.

After resizing the eyes and taking things VERY slowly….

Your souls are ours now.

Now they look more like the creatures I’d chase up a camphor tree!

Soon…

Of course, some hand-stitching is still involved – particularly the tails and after the stuffing. But, I’m sold – the sewing machine is no longer a thing to be feared. Maybe ones that have like, 300 stitches…

And now, I just can’t staaahp!

*slow motion walk*

Then, one day I got a little overconfident…

Let’s pretend this didn’t happen…

But from his death, a Chibi Totoro was born…

Aaaand, back to the Chibi Totoros. ย With so much felt I’ve acquired, I’ve been making Chibi Totoro plushies of different colors – and they’re all equally as cute.

Chibi Totoro Grey Scale.

Soon, I’ll graduate to a real sewing machine…you can watch me panic as I tweet and/or Instagram my progress!

What creative progress have you conquered or are starting your quest to conquer?

Happy making!

 

 

One thought on “Sew What?

Leave a Reply

