Looking Back and Looking Ahead

Oh 2016. How many of us wish you were over already with you depriving us of our favorite celebrities (RIP Carrie Fisher) and bestowing us some crazy conversation topics with family during the holidays (*cough*Election*cough*).

I asked myself a moment ago how I’ve grown as an artist this year, and thought – did I even grow at all? And I did – in ways that have slipped past me for whatever reason. I’ve been patting myself on the back with my accomplishments – small victories for me!

This year I’ve…

Made more plushies!

Plushie Matt the Radar Tech isn't picky about which pastries he deprives you of.

Plushie Matt the Radar Tech isn’t picky about which pastries he deprives you of.

Where else would Plushie Kylo Ren shop?

Where else would Plushie Kylo Ren shop?

I don’t know how this didn’t pop up when going over my accomplishments. So my plushie repertoire isn’t huge, but it has grown and I’ve solved lots of tiny plushie problems. Such as…discovering paint pens! Oh geeze, how I wish I got one a long time ago.

So who poses first? You pose first? Or I pose first?

So who poses first? You pose first? Or I pose first?

And by the holidays my love for sewing these things rekindled (I admit, there was a bit of a lull) and I made some new plush – including Poe Dameron and an Imperial Stormtrooper.

Opened an Etsy store!

With my obsessions driving me to make plushies, I eventually convinced myself to try selling them on on Etsy. I was surprised I made some sales! Will I continue – absolutely.

Had a table at a convention!

Your life needs more bikini Kylo.

Your life needs more bikini Kylo.

This was something I’ve always wanted to do and I’m so happy I tried it. Did I mention how much I loved it? My expectations of selling were really low, but I loved the engagement with con attendants and meeting fellow artists. I definitely want to do this again! Sadly, my friend and I were rejected for next year’s Fanime, but we’re gonna try our hand at other events. Hope to see some of you when we snag a table!

Draw. Draw. Draw!

Prompt #7: Lost BB-8 holds the key to a lost hermit

Prompt #7: Lost
BB-8 holds the key to a lost hermit

Prompt #9: Broken If only she let that squirrel alone...

Prompt #9: Broken
If only she let that squirrel alone…

Hourly comics, Inktober, and Daily Doodles (even if I’ve been slacking some days) – I’ve kept my drawing arm moving however much I could. The little artist community on Instagram is always fun and I’ve made some lovely trades with some lovely and talented folks who I’m so glad to have met.

Cosplay!

Ok, so this Rey outfit was more for Halloween (and wearing to Rogue One’s opening night), but I did get a tiny taste of putting together a costume. Most pieces were bought, but I did pat myself on the back for putting the belt  and (with a little help) getting the long scarf/wrap done.

Grew a community

Alongside my fellow artist pals, we kept our regular Drawing Meats MEATup going throughout the year. We’ve met and befriended some amazing new artists. You’ll bet we’ll be continuing this tradition through all of next year and years ahead.

What’s ahead in 2017?

Along with continuing the above there are lots of crafting ideas swimming through my mind that I want to try. One is playing around with resin to make some cool jewelry, the other – finally getting around to learning how to use a sewing machine. As for my Etsy  and possible tables – I definitely will work on making new items such as stickers, buttons, and more plushies! Who knows, maybe I’ll even try NaNoWriMo.

What are your creative resolutions for 2017 and beyond?

Have a safe New Year, everyone. And keep on creating!