Easing into 2024

It’s been a bit of a slow start for me – and I can blame that on the bug I caught near Christmastime as well as the birthday prep and all the other holiday social obligations. Oh yeah, I’ve made another trip around the sun, yay!

Shoutout to myself who bought the cake. But also my wonderful fam & friends who celebrated with me!

However, I did hunker down to start on that one goal I mentioned in my previous post – that is, to draw more in CSP. I had myself crunch to finish up a few comics and drawings for the Veggielore Scrolls – especially with some upcoming tabling events coming down the pipeline. New goal – new comic and some new stickers! Maybe some trinkets if we’re lucky.

A wee preview of some Veggielore Scrolls WIPs – Tom the Innkeeper, the Princess, and Shiitake Pilgrim seeks wisdom from Uma

I also tried to get into streaming again – but nothing extravagant like having a nice Twitch.tv set-up. At least, not yet should that ever be in the plan. Instead, it was just me, my phone, my cheap desk mount, and Instagram. I was lucky to have maybe 1-2 viewers and that’s kind of what I could ever ask for- at least one person interested enough to watch me scribble some veggie-based villagers while I try and fail to sound like a Twitch streamer. I mean, it all sounded good in my head at the time.

My glamorous setup

But I had a good scribbling streak and ended up with a lot of cute ideas for potential Veggielore Scrolls characters. You just might see some of these either in panels or in sticker form…

Citizens of Gardendor. Welcome to the ARENA.

Still, it was fun and even having just one viewer was enough for me to consider doing it again on a regular basis. By the way, if you’re on Instagram, I try to stream in the evenings around 7pm PST.

I also got back into the habit of practicing my weak areas – you know….everything – but most certainly hands. One of my little mantras is that if I mastered drawing hands I’d be halfway decent with everything else. I think I’m learning the hard way that it’s nowhere near true because I definitely need some work with drawing my characters in different poses other than ‘hold a drink with the other hand on hip’.

I should be a pro at drawing himbos by now, right?

I’ll need to make myself a habit tracker so I don’t fall off the rails (again).

And that leads to my first person-shaped drawing of the year….*drumroll*……

I mean, I still have several of these red/blue pencils to burn through.

I could draw any of my boba boi characters, but Zagreus is too fun and too cute to not draw and the limiting red and blue just feel perfect for his color profile. Also I just miss drawing him.

And lastly – guess what! I finally got myself a drawing tablet! Sad thing is…I won’t be able to use it until I get myself a powered USB hub. Turns out the lone port on my ancient laptop can’t provide enough juice. Always something, huh. Until then, it’s back to using my old Surface Pro.

How has your creative year started? Hit the ground running or easing into it? Or the regular pace?

Leave a comment