Art that gets me wet (sorta)

I want to talk about my on and off again relationship with my watercolor set.

It's not you, it's me.

It’s not you, it’s me.

We had our awkward moments. Then I thought we were getting serious.

Then markers came in so…we decided to take a “break”

Then we kind of ran into each other and did some catching up.

I don’t know. This is getting complicated. One day, it feels like, yeah…this is the ONE.

And then we don’t talk to each other for days.

We are still talking about watercolors, right?

Man, I love this set. I don’t use it as much s I’d love to – I’m getting there. Seeing other artists out there using watercolors for their manga-esque pieces really inspired me to pull out the set more often.

Water you wading for?

Water you wading for?

Sounds cheesy, but it really is like having an entire set of water-based markers….with all the fun of mixing and watering down to get that color you need.

Snow White with a cosmetically-challenged apple.

Snow White with a cosmetically-challenged apple.

I learn the hard way – very often- that watercolor is something that requires patience. A LOT of patience. I love the layering of tones – but waiting a bit for the previous layer to dry can get me antsy. Being too impatient just results in blotchy bleeding and me drowning my sorrows in an entire bag of Cheetos.

 

"Please draw me a dreamy handsome companion soon!"

“Please draw me a dreamy handsome companion soon!”

Still, though, I love the results. They’re particularly fun to use when making greeting cards and ATC (artist trading cards). Probably because I like to work on smaller surfaces!

MAOW!

MAOW!

"You, me, and some Ferelden stew. What do you say?"

“You, me, and some Ferelden stew. What do you say?”

If you’re curious about this particular set – it’s called the Sakura Koi Pocket Field Sketch Box. It’s crazy handy and, for people who like to have their stuff strewn about like me – cleanup is hardly cleanup.

Did I mention TRADE? I DID, didn’t I? If you’re interested in a trade of art things, come chat with me!

 

Leave a comment